Order for Guest
Your shopping cart is empty.
Order for Guest
Saturday, February 6 | 8:00PM


Music imaginatively narrates both setting and mood in a concert surely not to be missed. Inspired by the painting of the same name, Rachmaninoff masterfully conveys a dark and epitaphic atmosphere in his symphonic poem, Isle of the Dead. Perhaps the finest cello concerto of the twentieth century, cellist Andrew Ascenzo returns to the Kindred Spirits Orchestra to perform Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1: a perfect virtuosic balance of romantic passion, tradition and form. Rounding out the program is Wagner’s classical, youthful and solely completed symphony: Symphony in C major.

Kristian Alexander | Conductor
Andrew Ascenzo | Cellist
Michael Berec | Host

7:10 PM - Prélude (pre-concert recital) 
7:20 PM - Pre-concert talk
Intermission discussion with Michael Berec and Andrew Ascenzo
Post-concert live jazz with complimentary glass of Champagne

Rachmaninoff, Isle of the Dead, Op. 29 - View Notes, Listen
Shostakovich, Concerto for cello and orchestra No. 1, Op. 107 - View Notes, Listen
Wagner, Symphony in C major  - View Notes, Listen

 SUBSCRIBE  and save up to 60%.


  • Show end times are not guaranteed and may vary depending on artist. Subject to regular fees. Discounts on base ticket price, not including handling fees and HST. All sales final.
  • Organizer: Kindred Spirits Orchestra
  • Phone Number: 905-305-7469
  • Email: boxoffice@markham.ca



Promotional Code

  • If you have a promotion, please enter the Access Code here: